Full lists of journals
- A-Z List of Electronic DatabasesThis A-Z list contains a full list of titles and descriptions of databases are currently availabe through the Tyndale Library Systems.
- Journal DirectoryThe "Journal Directory" is an A-Z list of print and electronic journals received by the Tyndale Library Systems.
Open Access Journals
What are "open access" journals?
"Open Access Journals" are fully peer-reviewed reporting on original research in a variety of disciplines. These journals are available for free to the public and can be accessed by anyone with internet connection.
The following is a list of gateways to "open access" journals.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (open web site) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ - the Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The directory contains 2356 journals covering all subjects and languages (of these, 682 journals are searchable at the article level).
- Theological Journals SearchThis provides a Google search for some open access on line theological journals.
Databases for Biblical Studies
- Atla Religion DatabaseThis database contains articles written by international authors on topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues
- Christian Periodical IndexThe Christian Periodical Index provides access to English language articles and reviews written from an evangelical Christian perspective from 1957 to present.
- New Testament AbstractsThis database, New Testament Abstracts Online, contains articles written about the New Testament and its historical context.
- Old Testament AbstractsOld Testament Abstracts Online indexes and abstracts journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. The topics that are covered in this database include: antiquities, archeaology, biblical theology, philology, and much more.
- Oxford Biblical Studies OnlineOxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.
- ProQuest Religion DatabaseProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions.
- Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes publications: Biblical Archaeology Review and Bible Review. Articles and Images are included.
Choosing the right database
What is the "right" database?
What makes for the "best" database often depends entirely on your topic of research.
For instance: if you're writing a research paper on the Babylonian Exile you may want to consider finding articles using the Old Testament Abstracts database as opposed to the New Testament Abstracts database. If you're writing a paper on the First Council of Jerusalem (Acts 15:2), you may want to consider using the New Testament Abstracts database for your research as opposed to the Old Testament Abstracts database.
Some databases, such as JSTOR or Academic Search Premier, cover multiple academic topics. You may want to consider one of these databases if your studying a topic in religion from a historical, psychological or a sociological perspective. Therefore, it is important to read the descriptions of the database while keeping your topic of interest in mind when selecting the best database for your research project.
In short, what makes for the "best" database for one topic doesn not necessarily mean that it's the "best" database for the next topic. Therefore be sure to read the descriptions of the database before selecting a database for your research.
For a full list and descriptions of the databases that the Tyndale Libraries currently subscribe to, please visit http://www.tyndale.ca/library/resources .
