Proquest Ebooks
Online Reference Books
Better than Wikipedia! Find information on a variety of English topics, including author's bio, terminology, and so much more!
Find History Books in the Tyndale Library
General Call # area for European, British, American and Canadian Histories are D and E. Call numbers from Main LIbrary stacks that begin with D are shelved in the ABBA Resource Centre. Items listed in storage and need to be requested on the Horsey Express form in the Main Library. Go to tyndale.on.worldcat.org. Note that History of Christianity is in BR and located in the main library reading room. The history of specific Christian denominations is classified in BX . BX items from the main library stacks are shelved in the ABBA Resource Centre.
D History (General)
DA History ( Great Britain )
DB Austria - Hungary
DC France
DD Germany
DE Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy - Malta
DAW History ( Central Europe )
DJK Eastern Europe (General)
DK Russia , Soviet Union .
DL Northern Europe
DP Spain -
DS Asia
DU Oceania (
E 11 America
E 151 United States
F 1 United States Local History
F 1001 British America
F 1170 French
F 1201 Latin /Spanish America
FC Canada
Reference Books
The J. W. Horsey Library reference collection in on the main floor, next to the Circulation and Reference Desks. This is a selective list of what the library has, there are more available in the Reference Collection.
The Cambridge historical encyclopedia of Great Britain and Ireland (Ref DA 34 .C28 1985)
Canada : a portrait (Ref FC 51 .C35 1995)
A companion to 20th-century America (Ref E 178 .6 .C65 2004)
A companion to American foreign relations (Ref E 183 .7 .C658 2003)
A dictionary of ancient history (Ref DE 5 .D53 1994)
A dictionary of British history (Ref DA 34 .D52 2001)
A dictionary of eighteenth-century world history (Ref D 286 .D53 1994)
Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history (Ref E 169 .1 .E624 2001)
Encyclopedia of American historical documents (Ref E 173 .E54 2004)
Encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history (Ref D 840 .E63 2008)
Encyclopedia of the crusades (Ref D 155 .A6 2003)
Ebooks
It is usually best to search WorldCat for a list of all eBook titles. Titles are hosted in various online sites, some of which are listed below.
- Ebook Central (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowEbooks from Proquest Ebook Central are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs and literature. The Tyndale Community has access to over140,000 e-books in every subject area of the curriculum.
Ebook Central contains many monographs related to all aspects of the Tyndale curriculum. Some sample searches are listed below.
DOWNLOADS are now available for up to 14 days. You will need to use Adobe Digital Editions (free). - Ebook academic Collection from Ebsco (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowEbooks from Ebsco include tens of thousands of full text ebooks for the Tyndale community. Including books in Religion, Business, Education and more.
- Open Library (open web site) This link opens in a new windowA growing archive of digitized books and other materials from academic libraries in the United States and Canada. Includes advanced search and display features. A great amount of material here is in the public domain. Free to use, you just have to register.
- Project Gutenberg Online Catalog (Open web site) This link opens in a new windowProject Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Most material available here is in the public domain.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library (open web site) This link opens in a new windowA digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. This is a free resource containing items in the public domain.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMany eBooks and historical images are hosted in JSTOR. It is a goldmine for history!
Order Books
If the library does not have a book you need, we have services available to help you get it.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the library does not have a book you need, we have services available to help you get it. Interlibrary Loan is available is to students, faculty and staff. As small fee smay apply.. Request a book and our staff will find it at another library and have it sent to the Library for you to check out.
- Recommend a BookLet us know material you would like us to purchase for the Libary. Send message to library@tyndale.ca
