Why consult a reference resource?
Reference resources like dictionaries and encyclopedias provide important background information about a person, place or topic. They will help acquaint you with the context, history, scholarship and vocabulary of your topic, providing important framework for understanding and engaging with further reading on the subject.
Online Reference Databases
These databases provide results from thousands of dictionaries and encyclopedias.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference contains reference works from various subject areas. Tyndale's access is useful for Psychology and Research Methods.
-
Gale Reference eBooks (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowThe Tyndale Library subscribes to several titles in this e-Reference collection. Many specialized encyclopedias are included.
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowTyndale's largest selection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Theological Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Tyndale Library has access to theological dictionaries and encyclopedias online and in print. Browse this list or come and check out our Reference section!
If you need a dictionary entry from a volume that is only in print, request a scan in Libanswers.
-
The Westminster dictionary of theological terms
by
Call Number: Print and EbookISBN: 9781611643862Publication Date: 2014 -
Concise Evangelical Dictionary of Theology
by
Call Number: Ref BT 17 .E87 1991 (print copy)ISBN: 0801032105Publication Date: 1991 -
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology
by
Call Number: Print and EbookISBN: 9780801039461Publication Date: 2017 -
