Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Secondary Resources for Biblical Interpretation: Bibliographic Indexes

A guide to online secondary resources for Biblical Interpretation.

Bibliographies vs. Bibliographic Indexes

Bibliographies are systematic lists of written works by a particular author or a specific subject.

Bibliographic indexes are aids used to help researchers find resources related to a specific academic field or discipline.

Bibliographies and bibliographic indexes are extremely helpful in academic research. They can help you identify the best primary and secondary resources in a field of study fast. They can also lead you to the authoratative and foundational works in a particular disciple.

There are two online indexes available through the Tyndale Libraries website that can help you find primary and secondary resources related to the academic study of the Bible: the Oxford Biblical Studies and the Oxford Bibliographies databases.

This page will give you some tips on how to uuse the Oxford Biblical Studies and the Oxford Bibliographies databases for your academic research.

Oxford Bibliographies

The Oxford Bibliographies Online database is a database of research guides developed by scholars and librarians across the planet. These research guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliographies and a high-level encyclopedias. These research guides outline the best resourses and the best available scholarly studies available to researchers across a wide variety of disciples.

The Oxford Bibliographies Online database contains over 100 topical research guides and entries related to the academic study of the Bible. Each entry contains a broad overview of the topic as well as an extensive list of scholarly resources related to the topic. You can also check to see if any of the suggested resources are available through the Tyndale Libraries.

 Here are some tips on how to use the Oxford Bibliographies Online database to find suggested texts related to your topic:

Basic Search Tips

  1. Go to the Oxford Bibliographies Online database
    (MyTyndale log-in required if you are using the database off-campus)
  2. Click on the Biblical Studies link near the top left-hand corner of the page
  3. Select the letter that corresponds with you topic (i.e. "A" for Atonement)
  4.  Click on the topic link to retrieve the overview and bibliography

You can also use the search engine in the top right-hand corner of the page to search for your topic and attain faster results.

Check the results with the Tyndale WorldCat:

  1. Click on the [+] Find this resource: link beneath the item
  2. Click the WorldCat link. You will be redirected to the WorldCat record.
  3. Check the Find a copy online section of the record to see if the item is available in electronic format through the Tyndale Libraries website.
    or
  4. Check the Find a copy in the library section of the record to see if the item is available in print through the Tyndale Libraries.

Oxford Biblical Studies

The Oxford Biblical Studies Online database (Tyndale log-in required) provides researchers access to a wide range of authoritative texts related to the Bible; up-to-date scholarly commentaries; reference entries and research aids. 

The A-Z Reference list in the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database is a good starting place for almost any scholarly research of the Bible as it contains over 6,000 entries and thematic lists of topics related to the Bible. Each entry contains a broad overview of the topic as well as lists of authoratative and scholarly resources resources that you can use for further research. 

Here are some tips on how to use the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database to find suggested texts related to your topic:

Browse Topics by Reference Article

  1. Go to the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database
    (My Tyndale log-in required if you are using off-site)
  2. Click on the Reference box on the right-hand side of the screen to go to A-Z list of topical reference entries
  3. Enter your topic into the Go to entry starting box and click Go 
    or
    You can the topics by alphabetical order by click a letter and scrolling down the screen 

Basic Search

  1. Go to the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database
    (My Tyndale log-in required if you are using off-site)
  2. Enter topic (i.e. Messiah) into the search engine. Click the magnifying glass icon to go to the Search Results screen.
  3. Click on one of the topics in the Refine Search box to narrow your search to a subtopic
  4. Click on one of the tabs in the Search Results box to narrow your search by Reference Articles, Bible Text, or Images & Maps