Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Find Books

Suggested resources for the study of religion at Tyndale University College & Seminary

Tyndale WorldCat

Search for an item in the Tyndale WorldCat:
WorldCat.org >>

Find electronic resources

Library of Congress Classification for Religion

B Philosophy
BC Logic
BD Speculative Philosophy
BF Psychology
BH Aesthetics
BJ (1188-1295) Religious Ethics
BL Religion & Mythology
BM Judaism
BP Islam
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations

Search the Tyndale library collections

You can now use WorldCat to search the library collections for books on Religious Studies. To do so, try the following steps:
  1. Go to one of the Tyndale library websites: 
    www.tyndale.ca/library or www.tyndale.ca/library/education
  2. Click on the "WorldCat Search" tab
  3. Enter your topic (i.e. "New Testament")
  4. Scroll down to "Topic" in "Refine Search" group options
  5. Click on one of the suggested range of topics to narrow your results
    Example: New Testament AND History

You can also refine your search by narrowing it down to one of the following:

Author
Year of Publication
Format

Locating the book

Locating a Printed Resource in WorldCat

When you locate an item using WorldCat you will need to make a note of the following details. These items will help you find the resource on the shelves:

  • Library call number
  • Location (i.e. Main Library; ABBA Resource Centre; Storage, etc.)
  • Availability ("available" or "not available"

Locating a Printed Resource on the Shelf

The Tyndale Library collections are arranged by the Library of Congress cataloging system. The call number on a book tells you where the book is located in the library.

The following is an example of how to effectively read a call number:

Title: Encyclopedia of Heaven by Miriam van Scott
Call Number: BL 540 .V36 1999
Location: Main Library Reference Collection

1. Identify the letters in the call number: BL

2. Identify the first set of numbers in the call number: 540

3. Identify the second set of numbers in the call number: V36

4. Identify the year at the end of the number: 1999

5. Identify the location: Main Library - Reference Collection

E-Books

Electronic books (E-books) are digital collections that contain digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs and literature.The following is a list of high quality online resources for e-books.

Still looking?

Still can't find what you're Looking for?

If you still cannot locate the resource you may: