International Development: Internet Resources

"Forced Migration Online (FMO) provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide."

These reports are compiled annually by the U.S. Department of State. They provide assessments of the current state of human rights as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Covers individual, civil, political, and worker rights.

Fedstats is maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. It provides a direct keyword search facility for statistical data across 14 federal agencies. There is also A-Z keyword access across over 70 federal agencies.

The United States Institute of Peace (USIP) an independent federal institution whose mission is "to help strengthen the nation's capabilities to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflicts". Links to media stories and events concerned with

USAID is the branch of the US Government responsible for administering humanitarian aid programs. The website contains information on development efforts, documents and publications and other development-related Internet resources.

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development. The Canadian Council for International Co-operation seeks to end global poverty, and to promote social justice and human digni

CIDA is the Canadian governmental agency concerned with development. The site includes an organisation chart, policies, and program news. The Resources section is an online library of development information.

IDRC is a public corporation created by the Canadian government to help developing countries with social, economic, and environmental issues.

Public portal for Statistics Canada gives statistical overviews in many sociodemographic areas (note: access to more detailed statistical information via library databases).

Full-text copies of developing country research from the shelves of the British Library for Development Studies (BLDS). These publications have been made available online to a global audience through partnership agreements between BLDS and research institutes in Africa and Asia. Learn more about BLDS’s projects to increase global access to developing country research.

Provides information on the availability of records relating to non-governmental organisations and pressure groups active in the UK since 1945.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 260 surveys in over 90 countries.

The gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.

Created by the Refugee Studies Center, Oxford University, the site provides access to a range of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide.

This site provides access to GenderStats (a database of international gender statistics and indicators), frequently updated research reports and useful development resources.

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) website offers information and resources on human development in more than 150 developing countries and territories. Documents can be downloaded in PDF format.

This site contains a publications database and library. Global projects are listed with access to PDF summaries. Topics covered by the projects include: nutrition and food security, poverty reduction, and reproductive health and population.

The Key Indicator of the Labour Market (KILM) is a multi-functional research tool of the ILO used daily by researchers around the world

IMF website provides information about the organization, publications, and press releases. Key publications include the World Economic Outlook and the Global Financial Stability Report.

ISN fills a unique niche in international coverage, providing timely, smart, in-depth analysis of world events

View international abour data in ILOSTAT, an International Labour Organization database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics.

OECD Factbook eXplorer for analysing country statistics.

OECD provides information about the organization and offers statistics and data covering a wide range of economic and social topics.

Provides access to DFID press releases, Ministers' speeches, opinion leader research and up-to-date news bulletins. Publications of the DFID, including strategy papers and statistics are available, including details of ongoing projects and programs.

Access to official United Nations websites. Includes an alphabetical index of all United Nations Organizations (UNOs), a classified index and a subject index.

The primary source for internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

Includes a directory of NGOs which helps identify civil society organizations (human rights watchdogs and grass roots groups) operating in specific regions of the world.

Information about the World Bank organization, members, aims and activities. The publication World Development Indicators can be found within the Data & Research section.

The WHO website provides general information about its activities and programmes, as well as access to WHO publications, research tools, the Library historical collection, and WHO websites.

World Vision works to improve child well-being and to serve people around the world regardless of religion, race, gender or ethnicity. Poverty is a complex problem, and World Vision seeks to address its root causes in a holistic way by focusing its efforts on Transformational Development, Disaster Management and Response, Advocacy and Public Engagement