Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other internet resources
Research Methods Knowledgebase - Hartford Seminary
The Research Methods Knowledge Base is a comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods. It covers the entire research process including: formulating research questions; sampling (probability and nonprobability); measurement (surveys, scaling, qualitative, unobtrusive); research design (experimental and quasi-experimental); data analysis; and, writing the research paper.
Online Encyclopedias for Research Methods
The following encyclopedias are available through Credo Reference. You can search them all together in Credo or by individual titles. If you want to view a list of entires in each item simply look for the link to browse headings once you are viewing a title.
Tyndale has access to several reference works in the areas of Research Methods and Psychology through the Credo Reference platform. You may search all titles together through this link, or the individual titles listed below.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The ideas and tools contained in the Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics are approachable and can be invaluable for understanding a very technical world and the increasing flow of information
Encyclopedia of Research Design
The Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
the Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. Although there are other "how-to" guides and references texts on survey research, none is as comprehensive as this Encyclopedia, and none presents the material in such a focused and approachable manner. This resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods takes an interdisciplinary approach, providing a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
The Encyclopedia features two major types of entries: definitions, consisting of a paragraph or two, provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method. Also included are suggested readings and references for future study
Subjects: Biblical Languages
, Biblical Studies
, Church History
, Greek language
, Missions and Global Christianity
, Pastoral Studies
, Religious Studies
, Research Strategies