Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains links to the best English literature resources on the web.
The websites on this page are librarian selected and great starting points to find online collections of
Remember: when using any site from the internet for research purposes evaluate the website
Find electronic resources
Absolute Shakespeare, the essential resource for for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre.
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
This internet publisher of literature, reference and verse provide students and researchers with unlimited access to a number of anthologies of poetry from different eras
Beowulf Online - University of Kentucky
This site is an image based edition of the poem Beowulf, and features the manuscript, glossary, transcripts and maps.
British Women Poets: 1789-1832
An “online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women” written between 1789 and 1832.
Canadian Poetry Online - University of Toronto Libraries
Collection of Canadian poets with biographies, list of published works, and sample poems.
Great Books Index
An Index to Online Great Books in English Translation
Modern American Poetry
Provides biographical and criticism on poets of our time. Content includes excerpts from previously published analyses of poems, biographical information, relevant illustrations and much more.
Open Source Shakespeare
The complete works of Shakespeare, a powerful search mechanism, a concordance, and statistical analysis of the texts.
As well as new recordings by contemporary poets, the Poetry Archive also contains historic recordings by poets from the past.
Poets.org contains thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings.
Representative Poetry Online - University of Toronto
Collection of poetry, edited by members of the Department of English at the University of Toronto from 1912 to the present.
Shaekspeare's Sonnets Online
All the sonnets are provided here, with descriptive commentary attached to each one, giving explanations of difficult and unfamiliar words and phrases, and with a full analysis of any special problems of interpretation which arise.
Subjects: Biblical Languages
, Biblical Studies
, Church History
, Greek language
, Missions and Global Christianity
, Pastoral Studies
, Religious Studies
, Research Strategies