What are reference sources?
Reference sources are online or print encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases or any other source that is designed to provide a concise yet authoritative overview of a topic of research.
Reference sources are excellent sources to use when you are starting your research, because they provide:
- general background information
- brief and factual overviews
- explanations of terminology and definitions of terms
- a list of authors who are experts in the field
- bibliographies of sources for further reading
Reference Resources on Theologians
Below are included selected print books from the Reference Collection. Search for more book titles by searching under "Theologians" or the name of your specific theologian in WorldCat.
Key Theological Thinkers by Call Number: Reference BT 28 .K46 2013ISBN: 9781409437635Publication Date: 2013Tyndale also has ebook
Twentieth-Century Theologians by Call Number: Reference BT 28 .K44 2010ISBN: 9781845119553Publication Date: 2010
The Reformation Theologians by Call Number: Reference BT 27 .R38 2001ISBN: 0631218386Publication Date: 2001
A New Handbook of Christian Theologians by Call Number: Reference BT 28 .N48 1996ISBN: 0687278031Publication Date: 1996
The Modern Theologians by Call Number: Reference BT 28 .M59 2005ISBN: 1405102772Publication Date: 2005Tyndale also has ebook
Cambridge Companions in Theology
- Cambridge Core (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1300 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 130 volumes). Cambridge Core also includes Cambridge Histories, selections of academic ebooks and Cambridge Journals
Print Reference Materials
The J. William Horsey Library at Tyndale University College & Seminary has an extensive collection of print reference materials that deal with theology.
You can browse the titles of theology encyclopedias, dictionaries and more through WorldCat. Click HERE for a list of reference books about theology in the J. William Horsey Library. They are not online, you can actually hold them in your hand! If they are in the Reference collection the books cannot be borrowed so you should always be able to find them in the library.
Online Reference Books for Theology
Find information on concepts in theology, biographical sketches of theologians and more! Some resources are free to everyone, others require you to use your Tyndale login.
For those looking for a good introduction to help you through the research process this ebook will help:
Kibbe, Michael. From Topic to Thesis : A Guide to Theological Research. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 2016. (ebook)
The selected ebooks below are all found in WorldCat. You may search WorldCat ot find even more.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology byCall Number: Main Library Reference BT 17 .C35 2011ISBN: 9780521880923Publication Date: 2011Library has print and ebook formats.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by Call Number: Main Reference BT 17 .E87 2017ISBN: 9780801039461Publication Date: 2017-11-07Tyndale has Ebook and print formats
- Oxford handbook of Catholic theology byPublication Date: 2015
- Oxford handbook of Christology byPublication Date: 2015
- Oxford handbook of the epistemology of theology byPublication Date: 2017
- Oxford handbook of eschatology byPublication Date: 2008
- Oxford handbook of theology and modern European thought byPublication Date: 2013
- Oxford handbook of theology, sexuality, and gender byPublication Date: 2015
The Edinburgh Critical History of Twentieth-Century Christian Theology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474488846Publication Date: 2022-08-05
