Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OA Resources by Subject
Locate Open Access resources online by subject.
Open Access Journals for English Literature
The following is a list of suggested peer-reviewed and open access journals related to the discipline of English Literature.
Electronic Libraries, repositories and directories
The following is a list of suggested open access sites offering
scholarly eBooks and eDocuments related to the discipline of English Literature.
Absolute Shakespeare, the essential resource for for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre.
Anthology of 16th Century Renaissance English Literature
A comprehensive guide to British literature of the Renaissance with over 100 original pages, biographies, and works never before published.
Anthology of 17th Century English Literature
A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Early 17th Century.
Anthology of 18th & 19th Century English Literature
A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the 18th and 19th Centuries.
Anthology of Middle English Literature
A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Medieval Period.
Athena: Literature, Books, Lists
Thousands of open source electronic texts that are sorted by author's name
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Canadian Poetry Online
Collection of poets with biographies, list of published works, and sample poems.
CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts, brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide
Contemporary Writers Profiles
This unique, searchable database contains up-to-date profiles of many of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers. Also included are writers from the Republic of Ireland who the British Council has worked with.
Great Books Index
An Index to Online Great Books in English Translation
Internet Classics Archive
Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
Mark Twain Project
The Mark Twain Project website offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
Open Source Shakespeare
The complete works of Shakespeare, a powerful search mechanism, a concordance, and statistical analysis of the texts.
Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing users with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Representative Poetry On-Line
Collection of poetry, edited by members of the Department of English at the University of Toronto from 1912 to the present.
The English Server
"The EServer is a digital humanities venture, based at Iowa State U, where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge."
"The Victorian Web is the WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which serves as a resource for courses in Victorian literature."
William Blake Archive
"A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities."
Women Writers Online
A database of texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.
CBC Digital Archives: Literature
Radio and television clips on Canadian Literature from the archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.
CBC Digital Archives: Poetry
Radio and television clips on Canadian Poetry from the archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.
Global Shakespeare Video Archive
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain.
Modern Writers Archive Collection (BBC)
Century's most read authors reveals something of those imaginations and the personalities which lie behind some of the greatest modern novels.
Subjects: Biblical Languages
, Biblical Studies
, Church History
, Greek language
, Missions and Global Christianity
, Pastoral Studies
, Religious Studies
, Research Strategies