Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains links to the best English literature resources on the web.
The websites on this page are librarian selected and great starting points to find online collections of
Remember: when using any site from the internet for research purposes evaluate the website
Find electronic resources
General Literature & Literary Theory Websites
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Canadian Literature LInks : Library and Archives Canada
Comprehensive list of links pertaining to Canadian literature.
This site presents information and resources pertaining to Chaucer to be used for research and distance learning.
Contemporary Writers Profiles
This unique, searchable database contains up-to-date profiles of many of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers. Also included are writers from the Republic of Ireland who the British Council has worked with.
Early Canadiana Online
"The Early Canadiana Online collection of rare books, magazines and government publications has over 80,000 titles (3,500,000 pages) and is growing."
Early Modern Hub
Early Modern Hub is a gateway site for anyone interested in studying the early modern period (c.1500-1800 CE). It only lists resources that are free to access and are primarily concerned with the early modern and study of the period.
Geoffery Chaucer Org
This site "sifts and sorts" the many Chaucer resources on the Web. Included are links to background information, bibliographies, biographical information, commentary, images, and more
Internet Public Library - Literary Criticism Links
The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
Mark Twain Project
The Mark Twain Project website offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
Online Symbolism Dictionary
This symbolism dictionary, part of University of Michigan's Fantasy and Science Fiction Home Pages, gives some possible cultural definitions of various symbols, and suggests ways in which the symbols may have been used in a literary context.
Oxford Text Archives
Compiled and maintained by Oxford University. Most are free, some texts are restricted.
Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing users with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Provides access to more than 34 000 full-text eBooks available in the public domain (out of copyright).
Purdue OWL: Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism
This resource will help you begin the process of understanding literary theory and schools of criticism and how they are used in the academy.
An open-access collection that contains a wealth of information on the man, his world, and his works.
The English Server
"The EServer is a digital humanities venture, based at Iowa State U, where hundreds of writers, editors and scholars gather to publish over 35,000 works free of charge."
"The Victorian Web is the WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which serves as a resource for courses in Victorian literature."
Voice of the Shuttle : Literary Theory Links
Contains general criticisms on authors and specific periods, text archives and other comprehensive resources, journals listservs, newsgroups, and more.
William Blake Archive
"A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Rochester, and the Scholarly Editions and Translations Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities."
Subjects: Biblical Languages
, Biblical Studies
, Church History
, Greek language
, Missions and Global Christianity
, Pastoral Studies
, Religious Studies
, Research Strategies