Research Guides: Church History: Find Books

Searching for Ebooks in the Catalogue

Begin your search in WorldCat, using a simple search or advanced search.. In an advanced search you can search by keyword, title, author, or subject.

Once you receive your results, you can use the filters on the side to narrow down your results.

Under Held By Library, select Tyndale University to see all results immediately available to Tyndale students.
Under Format, select eBook to view all eBooks owned by Tyndale on your subject.
Use other filters to narrow by year, language, or subject as well.

Each eBook should have a blue button that says "View eBook". Once you click this button, you will be prompted for your mytyndale username and password. Once you enter your information, your eBook will load.

You have the option to read and bookmark the eBook online, or you can download the eBook. It is generally unnecessary to download the eBook unless you want to view it offline.

Ebook Databases

Ebook Central (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from Proquest Ebook Central are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs and literature. The Tyndale Community has access to over140,000 e-books in every subject area of the curriculum.
Ebook Central contains many monographs related to all aspects of the Tyndale curriculum. Some sample searches are listed below.
DOWNLOADS are now available for up to 14 days. You will need to use Adobe Digital Editions (free).
DOWNLOADS are now available for up to 14 days, if you wish to save an ebook to your computer or tablet. You will need to use Adobe Digital Editions, which is a free download in order to download ebooks from Ebrary.
Ebook academic Collection from Ebsco (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from Ebsco include tens of thousands of full text ebooks for the Tyndale community. Including books in Religion, Business, Education and more.
Open Library (open web site) This link opens in a new window
A growing archive of digitized books and other materials from academic libraries in the United States and Canada. Includes advanced search and display features. A great amount of material here is in the public domain. Free to use, you just have to register.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog (Open web site) This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Most material available here is in the public domain.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (open web site) This link opens in a new window
A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. This is a free resource containing items in the public domain.
Digital Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The Loeb Classical Library makes Greek and Latin literature accessible. The digital Loeb Classical Library presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.