Book reviews at the library and why they are important
Every month, different journals and publications publish reviews of new and up-coming children's and young adults books, that assess their artistic and literary merit.
The Tyndale Libraries provides access to such journals through the libraries' online databases and/or journal directory.
Find electronic resources
- E-JournalsTyndale log-in required
Find book reviews and articles (Electronic and Print Journals)
For a full-list of electronic and printed journals offered through the Tyndale Libraries please visit our Journal Directory.
Below is a list of suggested journals where you can find authoritative reviews of the latest children's books.
- ASLC LitpicksAlberta School Library Council.
Includes listings by Grade level. - Canadian Children's Book NewsReviews of books with Canadian authors or illustrators.
- Canadian Review of MaterialsElectronic: Open Access. No log-in required
- Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult LiteraturePrint: ABBA Resource Centre
v.17-27 (2006=2016) - Horn Book MagazineElectronic: MyTyndale log-in required
- Lion and the UnicornElectronic: MyTyndale log-in required
- Looking Glass: new perspectives on children's literatureElectronic: Open Access. No log-in required
- Publishers WeeklyElectronic: MyTyndale log-in required
- School Library JournalElectronic: MyTyndale log-in required
For Open Access edition go to www.slj.com - The Deakin Review of Children's LiteratureUniversity of Alberta
- Resource LinksCouncil for Canadian Learning Resources.
Electronic: MyTyndale login required
Book Reviews
Find book reviews and articles (databases)
For a full-list of the electronic resources and databases offered through the Tyndale Libraries please visit out A-Z Guide to Databases.
Below is a list of suggested databases where you can search for authoritative reviews of the latest children's and young adult's literature.
- Academic Search PremierMyTyndale log-in required
- Canadian Reference CenterMyTyndale log-in required
- Education Research CompleteMyTyndale log-in required