About this Page
Open Access (OA) resources are refered to as scholarly literature that is freely available on the Internet - usually in the form of journals.
These resources are sustained by the academic and scientific communities that produce them.
They are typically found in peer-reviewed Open Access Journals and Institutional Repositories, which act as archives of institutions' scholarly output.
OA Resources by Subject
Locate Open Access resources online by subject.
Directories
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources."
- BC Campus: Open EdThe goal of this website "is to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks."
- Canadian Institutional RepositoriesDirectory of links to electronic repositories maintained and developed by Canadian universities.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)A growing directory of Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers
- Directory of Open Access Journals (open web site) This link opens in a new windowA directory of over 6,000 scholarly open access journals from around the world.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories (DOAR)Directory of links to over 1700 institutional and subject repositories from around the world.
- Electronic Journals LibraryContains over 30,000 open access and scholarly journals in most disciplines.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
- JURN Directory: directory of open access arts & humanities journalsA search-engine that indexes thousands of open access eJournals in the arts & humanities.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations"Promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations."
- OISE Open Access BookmarksOISE's directory of open-access resources.
- Open CultureOpen Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.
- Open Directory ProjectThe Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.
- Open Humanities Press"Open Humanities Press is an international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide."
- Open Research Online"Open Research Online is the Open University's repository of research publications and other research outputs. It is an Open Access resource that can be searched and browsed freely by members of the public."
- Theological Journals SearchSearch over 340 religion journals related to scripture studies, systematic theology, practical ministries, and cognate disciplines for which full text is freely available on the Internet.
- Open Access Resources (University of New Haven)This LibGuide is very good!
Electronic Libraries & Repositories
- Canadiana.orgCanadiana.org works together with libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions to strengthen Canada's collective ability to present Canadian documentary heritage content online.
- Christian Classics Ethereal LibraryThe Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
- Internet Archive (open web site) This link opens in a new windowDigital library of free books, movies, music and the way back machine.
- IntraText Digital LibraryFull-text Digital Library offering books and corpora as lexical hypertexts on Creative Commons License. Committed to accuracy, accessibility and touch-oriented cognitive ergonomics
- LibriVoxLibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain.
- ManyBooks.netThousands of free ebooks, pre-formatted for reading on your computer, smartphone, iPod, or e-reading device.
- Open LibraryOpen Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
- Oxford Text ArchiveCompiled and maintained by Oxford University. Most are free, some texts are restricted.
- Project GutenburgProvides access to more than 34 000 full-text eBooks available in the public domain (out of copyright).
- Social Science Research Network"Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences."
- The Free LibraryNews, Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Reference Articles and Classic Books
- The Online Books PageFeatures over 10000 online books free to the public.
- World Digital Library"Search 11,244 items about 193 countries between 1200 BCE and 2000 CE"
