Research Guides: Theology: Indigenous Perspectives: Find Books & eBooks

Tyndale WorldCat

Find electronic resources

Useful Links

Search for print and eBooks @ the Tyndale Library

Use the WorldCat catalog to search for printed books available through the Tyndale Libraries and beyond.

For more information on how to use the WorldCat search engine see the WorldCat: How to use it research guide.

Use the WorldCat search engine at www.tyndale.ca/library or the search widget on the left-hand side of the screen
Click on the "Print book" box on the left-side of the search results screen to limit your search to printed books only
Click on the hyperlinked title of the book that you want to sign-out
Note the call-number and the availability of the printed book in the Find a copy at the Library section of the item's record
If you are living outside of the Greater Toronto Area and would like to have a printed book delivered to you, see the Interlibrary loan & document delivery page for information on how to have the printed book delivered to your home

See also:

Use the WorldCat catalog to search for eBook titles available at the Tyndale Libraries.

Use the WorldCat search engine at www.tyndale.ca/library or the search widget on the left-hand side of the screen
Click on the eBook box on the left-hand side of the search results screen
Click on the hyperlinked title of the eBook that you wish to view
Click on the View eBook link in the item record to view the eBook online
The Library's DesLibris database provides ebooks and government documents related to indigenous studies in Canada.

For more information on the eBook collections at the Tyndale Libraries see the Find eBooks page on this research guide

See also:

You can use one of the following methods to find printed books and eBooks by topic at the Tyndale Libraries:

Search for a known book on your topic in the WorldCat catalog. Click on one of the title of the book and then on one of the subjects under More like this to retrieve a list of resources on that topic
Note one of the call number ranges in the Call Number Ranges portion of the box below to browse Tyndale Libraries' collections
Click on the Subject Headings tab below and then click on one of the recommended topics

See also:

The Tyndale Library is the current home of the North American Institute of Indigenous Theological Studies (NAIITS) collection. This collection of 1,100 items documents the past experience of indigenous peoples with special attention to North, South and Central America.

All materials are now catalogued and available for use. For a complete listing of the entire collection click here.

Take the following steps to search for NAIITS' resources in the Tyndale Library collections using WorldCat

Use the WorldCat search engine at www.tyndale.ca/library or the search widget on the left-hand side of the screen
Enter the acronym NAIITS into the WorldCat search engine
Enter the keywords or subject headings of your research topic. Example: NAIITS Christian Missions
Click the Search Catalog button

See also:

Open Access Books are scholarly eBooks that are either in public domain or published under a Creative Commons Copyright license. These books are available for free online and do not require any log-in information to access.

For more information on Open Access Books please see the Find Open Access eBooks page on this research guide.

For more information on Open Access Resources in general please see the Open Access Resources research guide.

See also:

Browse the print and eBook Collections @ the Tyndale Library

Call Number Ranges
Subject Headings

The following is a list of recommended call-number ranges that you can use to browse the collections at the library:

Biblical & Theological Studies	Indigenous Studies
BR 1-1725: Christianity BR 140-1510: Church History BR 1690-1725: Christian Biographies BS 1-1899: Old Testament BS 1900-2970: New Testament BT: 10-1480: Doctrinal Theology BV 1-5099: Practical Theology BV 590-1652: Ecclesiastical Theology BV 2000-3705: Missions BX 1-9999: Christian Denominations	E 75-99: Indians of North America E 76.7-8: Research & Historiography E 77: History E 78 .C2: Indians of Canada (General) E 98 .C89: Cultural Assimilation E 98 .E83: Ethics E 98 .R3: Religions E 98 .M6: Missions E 99 .A-Z: Tribes & Cultures E 99 .A: Education

The following is a list of recommended subject headings/topics that you can use to search the printed and eBook collections at the Tyndale libraries:

Subject Heading Search Tip:

Combine the kw: subject search command with the su: subject search command to focus your search within subject heading. For instance, if you would like to focus your search on Indigenous topics within the subject-heading of Christianity and culture the following search: su:Christianity and culture kw:indigenous

Biblical & Theological Studies	Indigenous Communities
Bible. Concordances or Bible. Commentaries or Bible. Dictionaries Bible. Encyclopedias Bible. History Bible. New Testament Bible. Old Testament Christian ethics Christianity Christianity and culture Theology doctrinal or Theology practical	Indigenous peoples Indians of North America Indians of North America Canada Indians of North America civil rights Indians of North America ethnic identity Indians of North America history Indians of North America religion Indians of North America residential schools Indians of North America social conditions Indians of North America spiritual life