Most of the items on this page can be found in the library reference collection. They can't be signed out so there should be copies in the library at all times. These books can be scanned and photocopied. Library staff are happy to scan sections of these reference books. Scanning requests can be submitted here.
Online Reference books on Biblical Backgrounds
- The Context of Scripture: Canonical compositions from the biblical world, edited by Hallo and YoungerPresents the multifaceted world of ancient writing that forms the background to the literature of the Hebrew Bible. Provides reliable access to a broad, balanced and representative collection of ancient Near Eastern texts that have some bearing on the interpretation of the Bible by 90 contributors.
Ancient near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament with Supplement by ISBN: 9781400882762Publication Date: 2016-03-30
- Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies45 essays by experts on various aspects of Biblical Studies.
- Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea ScrollsIncludes 31 essays by experts on the subject.
- Oxford Handbook of the Reception History of the Bible44 essays on various books and subjects related to this theme.
- Cambridge Companion to the GospelsClick on this link and type in the title to this volume
- Cambridge History of the Bible3 volumes
- T&T Clark Jesus LibraryIncludes:
• Christianity: The Complete Guide
• Jesus: The Complete Guide
• Mary: The Complete Resource
• The Dictionary of the Bible and Ancient
Media
• The History of the Jewish People in the Age of Jesus Christ
• The Reception of Jesus in The First Three Centuries
- The Oxford History of the Biblical World byPublication Date: 1999
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volumes I & II by ISBN: 9780567661449Publication Date: 2019-12-26
Print Reference Books -- some titles are available in both ebook and print
Ancient near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament with Supplement by Call Number: Ref BS 1180 .A5 1969ISBN: 9780691035031Publication Date: 1969-12-21 (3rd edition 2016 is also available as an ebook)
Reference Books in the Library's reference collections that are helpful in understanding life in Biblical times. Note that Bible atlases are also very useful.
The Baker Illustrated Guide to Everyday Life in Bible Times by Call Number: BS 440 .B27 2013 ABBA Resource Centre StacksISBN: 9780801014130Publication Date: 2013CLICK TITLE LINK FOR EBOOK ACCESS.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by Call Number: Ref DE 59 .C55 1988ISBN: 9780684175942Publication Date: 1988-01-01In three volumes
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East by Call Number: Ref DS 57 .C55 1995ISBN: 0684192799Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity by Call Number: Ref BS 440 .Y37 2014ISBN: 9781619704602Publication Date: 2014-10-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East by Call Number: Ref DS 56 .O9 1997ISBN: 0195065123Publication Date: 1996-11-28CLICK TITLE LINK FOR EBOOK ACCESS
Canonical Compositions from the Biblical World by Call Number: Ref BS 1180 .C66ISBN: 9004106189Publication Date: 2002-06-20Includes 3 volumes:v. 1Canonical compositions from the biblical world. v.2 Monumental inscriptions from the biblical world. v.3 Archival documents from the biblical world.CLICK TITLE LINK FOR EBOOK ACCESS.
The New Manners and Customs of Bible Times by Call Number: Ref BS 621 .G68 1987ISBN: 0802459544Publication Date: 1987-06-08
Zondervan illustrated Bible backgrounds commentary -- New Testament by Call Number: Ref BS 491 .3 .Z67 2002ISBN: 0310218063v.1-v.4
CLICK TITLE LINK FOR EBOOK ACCESS.
Zondervan illustrated Bible backgrounds commentary -- Old Testament by Call Number: Ref BS 491 .3 .Z67 2009ISBN: 9780310255734CLICK TITLE LINK FOR EBOOK ACCESS
The World Around the Old Testament : the people and places of the ancient Near East by Call Number: DS 62 .2 .W67 2016ISBN: 9780801039188Publication Date: 2016Print edition shelved in ABBA Resource Centre. Click title to access ebook edition.
Subject Guide
Other internet resources
- Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Libraryfree online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s are now available to the public online. The high resolution images are extremely detailed and can be accessed through various search options on the site.
Online Encyclopedias on Judaism
- T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volume I & II by ISBN: 9780567661449Publication Date: 2019
