Most of the items on this page can be found in the library reference collection. They can't be signed out so there should be copies in the library at all times. These books can be scanned and photocopied. Library staff are happy to scan sections of these reference books. Scanning requests can be submitted here.
Print Reference Books for Word Studies - New Testament
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. by Call Number: Ref PA 881 .K513ISBN: 0802822487Publication Date: 1964
The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology by Call Number: Ref BS 2312 .N48 1975ISBN: 0310332389Publication Date: 1975
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by ISBN: 9780226039336Publication Date: 2001
The New Analytical Greek Lexicon by Call Number: Ref PA 881 .N47 1990ISBN: 9780943575339Publication Date: 1990
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by Call Number: Ref PA 881 .E91 1990ISBN: 9780802824097Publication Date: 1990- Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament : based on semantic domains byCall Number: Ref PA 881 .G68Publication Date: 1989
Online Word Study Resources
- Atla Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (Tyndale login required) This link opens in a new windowAtla Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. You will find index for journal articles, book reviews and essays from collected works. Full text digital access is available for selected articles and reviews.
- Blue Letter BibleBlue Letter Bible is a free, searchable online Bible program providing access to many different Bible translations and study tools.
- STEP Bible"STEP stands for 'Scripture Tools for Every Person' and is designed to give users across the world, particularly those in disadvantaged countries, free access to trustworthy Bible expertise. Created by Bible scholars at Tyndale House, Cambridge, UK, it is curated by a non-denominational body of scholars and other volunteers who are passionate about sharing accurate information on the Bible." - description from stepbible.org
Print Reference Books for Word Studies - Old Testament
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref PJ 4833 .B571ISBN: 0802823386Publication Date: 1974-2006
The Baker Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words by Call Number: Ref BS 440 .B265 2023ISBN: 9780801019333Publication Date: 2023-02-14eBook edition also.
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref PJ 4833 .T49 1980ISBN: 0802486312Publication Date: 1980
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis by Call Number: Ref BS 1129 .N438 1997ISBN: 0310481708Publication Date: 1997
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias provide valuable background information and context for the word that you are studying.
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary 6-Volume by Call Number: Reference BS 440 .A54 1992ISBN: 9780300140811Publication Date: 1992originally called: Anchor Bible Dictionary. Tyndale has print and online access.
- The IVP Bible Dictionary Series
"Unique among reference books on the Bible, the volumes of the IVP Bible Dictionary Series bridge the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and lay people desiring in-depth treatment of select topics in an accessible and encyclopedia format. Articles cover traditional and contemporary topics, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole."
Description from ivpress.com
Subject Guide
Concordances
Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS 425 .S8 2001ISBN: 9780310233435Publication Date: 2001
Word-Study New Testament and Concordance by Call Number: Ref BS 2305 .W53 1978ISBN: 9780878087518Publication Date: 1978
The Englishman's Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref BS 1125 .W53 1996ISBN: 9781565632080Publication Date: 1995
