Most of the items on this page can be found in the library reference collection. They can't be signed out so there should be copies in the library at all times. These books can be scanned and photocopied. Library staff are happy to scan sections of these reference books. Scanning requests can be submitted here.
Online Bible Dictionaries
Many publishers of Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias do not license them as ebooks to libraries. They may be available as ebooks for individuals to purchase. The following are exceptions:
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary 6-Volume by Call Number: Reference BS 440 .A54 1992ISBN: 9780300140811Publication Date: 1992originally called: Anchor Bible Dictionary. Tyndale has print and online access.
- The IVP Bible Dictionary Series
"Unique among reference books on the Bible, the volumes of the IVP Bible Dictionary Series bridge the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and lay people desiring in-depth treatment of select topics in an accessible and encyclopedia format. Articles cover traditional and contemporary topics, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole."
Description from ivpress.com
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception by ISBN: 9783110199048Publication Date: 2007-presentThe projected thirty-volume EBR is intended to serve as a comprehensive guide to the current state of knowledge on the background, origins, and development of the canonical texts of the Bible as they were accepted in Judaism and Christianity. Unprecedented in breadth and scope, this encyclopedia also documents the history of the Bible's interpretation and reception across the centuries, not only in Judaism and Christianity, but also in literature, visual art, music, film, and dance, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and new religious movements.
Dictionary of the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by Call Number: Online onlyISBN: 9781540960047Publication Date: 2023-11-14
Dictionary for theological interpretation of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS 440 .D49512 2014ISBN: 1784028029Publication Date: 2014
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by Call Number: Ref BS 440 .D496 2007ISBN: 9780415201001Publication Date: 2007-02-23
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics by Call Number: Ref BS 680 .E84 D53 2011ISBN: 9780801034060Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology by Call Number: Ref BS 440 .E78 1996ISBN: 9780801020490Publication Date: 1995-10-01
New international dictionary of New Testament theology and exegesis. by Call Number: Ref BS 2312 .N48 2014ISBN: 9781787854000Publication Date: 2019
Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias in the Reference Collection
Selected Resources to use for Word Studies
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref PJ 4833 .B571ISBN: 0802823386Publication Date: 1974
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis by Call Number: Ref BS 1129 .N438 1997ISBN: 0310481708Publication Date: 1997
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by Call Number: Ref PJ 4833 .T49 1980ISBN: 0802486312Publication Date: 1980
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis Set by Call Number: Main Library Reference BS 2312 .N48 2014ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014Five volume set. Tyndale has print copy in Reference and searchable ebook version.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. by Call Number: Ref PA 881 .K513ISBN: 0802822487Publication Date: 1964
